The City Council of the City of Mattoon held a budget work session in the Council Chambers of City Hall on March 11, 2020.

Mayor Gover presided and called the meeting to order at 8:00 a.m.

Mayor Gover led the Pledge of Allegiance.

The following members of the Council answered roll call physically present: YEA Commissioner Dave Cox, YEA Commissioner Sandra Graven, YEA Commissioner Rick Hall, YEA Commissioner Preston Owen, and YEA Mayor Tim Gover.

Also physically present were City personnel: City Administrator Kyle Gill, Finance Director/Treasurer Beth Wright, Public Works Director Dean Barber, Police Chief Jason Taylor, Deputy Police Chief Sam Gaines, Parks/Lakes/Cemetery Superintendent Kurt Stretch, Technology Coordinator Brian Johanpeter and City Clerk Susan O'Brien.

PRESENTATIONS, PETITIONS AND COMMUNICATIONS

Mayor Gover opened the floor for Public comments. Police Captain Ray Hall voiced his concerns over retiree health insurance premiums.

The City Council and City Staff will review budgetary items in preparation for the FY21 Budget. Administrator Gill, Treasurer Wright and Council reviewed the first proposed budget meeting (02/18/2020) with a deficit of -\$1,211,981, the second proposed budget (02/28/2020) with a deficit of -\$607,802, third proposed budget (03/11/2020) with a deficit of -\$412,392. Discussion was held on the staffing, hiring freeze, services, police department manning, fire arbitration, fire backpay, 2023/2024 negative cash, other insurance plans, self-insurance, balancing the budget, safety tax and restructuring of the fire department. Other items discussed were the funding of Coles Together, Video Gaming Fund for operating expenses, a focus group with community involvement, managerial form of government, technology allocations, Water and Sewer funding with a one percent increase on sewer rates, video gaming, long-term debt, and increment sewer rate increases.

Commissioner Hall seconded by Commissioner Cox moved to adjourned at 9:35 a.m.

Mayor Gover declared the motion carried by the following vote: YEA Commissioner Cox, YEA Commissioner Graven, YEA Commissioner Hall, NAY Commissioner Owen, YEA Mayor Gover.

/s/Susan J. O'Brien City Clerk