Mattoon Fire Department

Fire Chief Tony Nichols
1812 Prairie Mattoon IL, 61938
Phone 234-2442
Phone 235-0931
Fax 217-234-2448

The Mattoon Fire Department is a full-time career department with 32 members. The department consists of 30 shift personnel and 2 Chief officers working 24/48-hour shifts and one Command personnel. They respond from two Stations. The department's apparatus consists of; 2 front-line Engine Companies and one reserve Engine; one 100' Aerial; one Heavy Rescue Truck; two ALS ambulances; one Technical Rescue Support Vehicle; 2 Emergency Response Trailers; and 2 Command Vehicles.

Department personnel are trained in several technical rescue disciplines including High-angle Rescue, Confined Space Rescue, and Mass Casualty Incidents. The department's 21 Emergency Medical Technicians (EMTs) provide non-transport Emergency Medical Services to the community. In addition, the Mattoon Fire Department employs 10 Licensed Paramedics.


Fire Station 1
1812 Prairie Mattoon IL, 61938
Phone 235-0931

Fire Station 3
2700 Marshall Mattoon IL, 61938

Mission Statement

The mission of the Mattoon Fire Department is to protect our citizens and visitors by minimizing the loss of life and property resulting from fire, medical emergencies and other disasters in such a manner that will retain the public's support and confidence in all aspects of service delivery.

This mission will be accomplished through Fire Prevention, Investigation, Public Education and Training efforts as well as by maintaining a quick and effective response for fire suppression, Emergency Medical Services and other emergency and non-emergency functions.